What is E-voting?


Today, eligible voters cast their votes at the ballot box or by post. E-voting makes it possible to vote electronically online via smartphone, tablet or computer, from anywhere and at any time. This is done by sending a security code to voters by post together with their voting or election documents, which they then use to log in to their canton’s E-voting platform. They can now cast a single vote, which is then stored, encrypted and anonymized in the electronic ballot box. Only the canton’s electoral commission can open the ballot box and decrypt and count the votes.

Security and end-to-end encryption

End-to-end encryption ensures that the digital “reply envelopes” cannot be opened or read from the time the vote is cast on the voter’s device until the moment the ballot box is opened by the cantonal electoral commission.

Device-independent

The system can be used independently of platforms and devices, whether on your smartphone, tablet or computer.

Accessibility

People with disabilities can take part in electronic voting and elections without assistance from others.

Time- and location-independent

Swiss nationals residing in Switzerland and abroad can participate in elections and votes regardless of their location (the canton determines which electoral groups can benefit from E-voting).

Prevents errors

A simple user interface prevents formal errors in the election and voting process, such as illegible answers, omitted signatures, incorrectly completed forms and invalid lists.

Quick and accurate

Votes can be counted quickly and accurately.

Advice

Checking the certificate’s fingerprint

If you want to check that you are on the correct official E-voting portal, you can check the certificate’s fingerprint. That way you can make sure that you are not on a manipulated or fake website. Certificates are used to guarantee the authenticity of the web server that you are using and to encrypt the communication connection with the server. This enables you to distinguish between genuine and fake websites, even if they may superficially look similar or the same.

Google Chrome

Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari

Deleting browsing history

If you want to make sure that no conclusions can be drawn about your vote on your device (computer, tablet, smartphone), we recommend clearing the browser cache after every vote. For instructions on how to delete browsing history, click on the browser that you use below.

Google Chrome / Mobile

Edge / Internet Explorer

Mozilla Firefox

Apple Safari / Mobile

Security

Various built-in mechanisms and special security-related and cryptographic precautions ensure that security and data protection are guaranteed. In the system’s most advanced phase of development, the votes cast will be individually and universally verifiable. This means that both voters and electoral authorities can check at all times that the votes cast have been correctly registered and have not been manipulated. You can find a selection of the security mechanisms in place below:


  • End-to-end encryption

    The connection between the voter and the voting portal is encrypted at every step.

  • Encryption of the data on the server

    The encrypted votes are stored on ISO- and TÜV-certified Swiss Post servers. The voter’s name and address are not saved on the systems at any time.

  • Votes cannot be attributed to voters

    Once a vote is cast, it cannot be attributed to a specific voter either before or after the votes are counted. This is because the electoral registers in the E-voting system have already been anonymized during the preparation stage and because votes are separated from the registration number once cast.

  • Illustration for year of birth

    Entering your year of birth

    In certain cantons, voters will be asked to enter their year of birth in addition to the input codes when logging in. Your year of birth will not be shown on your voting card and therefore provides additional security.

How do I vote?


You will receive the codes required to cast your vote together with the election documents. These will also contain the URL for the election and voting portal used by your canton.
The process is defined by four different codes: the start voting key, the choice codes, the ballot casting key and the vote cast code.


Triangle symbol indicating the start voting key.

Start voting key

The start voting key (marked with a TRIANGLE) consists of a series of numbers and letters indicated on your voting card. To identify yourself and to start the vote casting process, you need to enter the start voting key as well as your year of birth on the portal’s start screen.

Square symbol indicating the choice codes.

Choice codes

The choice codes are marked with a DIAMOND and enable so-called individual verifiability.
The choice codes are a series of numbers which are displayed on the screen in step 3, “Verify and cast vote”. Compare the choice codes displayed with those in your voting and election documents. If the choice codes displayed match those in the documents, then you know that your vote has been correctly sealed and sent according to your selection.

Pentagon symbol indicating the ballot casting key.

Ballot casting key

The ballot casting key is marked with a PENTAGON. If the choice codes shown in step 3, “Verify and cast vote”, are correct, you must type in the ballot casting key in order to cast your vote in the electronic ballot box. If you do not enter your ballot casting key, your vote will not be cast in the electronic ballot box. In this case, you will still be able to cast your vote by post or at the ballot box.

Star symbol indicating the vote cast code.

Vote cast code

The vote cast code is marked with a STAR on your voting card. The vote cast code allows you to check whether the voting process has been successfully completed in step 4 “Vote cast”. If the vote cast code matches the code displayed, then you have successfully completed the voting process.

Demo

You can try out Swiss Post’s e-voting system in a fictitious vote and fictitious elections here.
First, download a fictitious voting card. During the voting process, enter the codes shown on the card.

Security check
To download your voting card, please click on the box below.

2. Go to the demo platform

Do you need help with the voting process? Call us on 0800 99 88 66 (8am – 5pm). Free of charge from a Swiss landline

Transparency

Swiss Post believes that only a transparent and politically neutral E-voting solution can be successful in the long term. For this reason, Swiss Post publishes a certain number of documents and concepts.

Transparency and publications

Partner cantons

The following cantons are already using our solutions

Fribourg

Cantonal coat of arms of Fribourg

In Fribourg, Swiss citizens living abroad have been able to vote electronically since the elections held on 27 November 2016.

Neuchâtel

Cantonal coat of arms of Neuchâtel

Since the contest on 12 February 2017, Neuchâtel has used Swiss Post’s system on the cantonal portal “Guichet Unique”.

Qu’est-ce que le vote électronique?


Aujourd’hui, les votants expriment leur vote par dépôt à l’urne ou par correspondance. Avec le vote électronique, il est désormais possible de voter en ligne à tout moment et de n’importe où, au moyen d’un smartphone, d’une tablette ou d’un ordinateur. Dans cette optique, les votants reçoivent un code de sécurité par courrier avec les documents liés aux votations et aux élections. Ce code leur permet de se connecter sur la plateforme de vote électronique de leur canton. Il est ensuite possible de voter une fois, après quoi le vote est enregistré de façon anonyme et crypté dans l’urne électronique. Seul le comité électoral du canton peut ouvrir les urnes, procéder au décryptage et comptabiliser les voix.


Sécurité et chiffrement de bout en bout

Un chiffrement de bout en bout garantit que les «enveloppes-réponse» numériques ne puissent pas être ouvertes ni lues entre l’enregistrement du vote sur l’appareil de l’électeur et l’ouverture de l’urne par la commission électorale du canton.

Indépendant des appareils

Le système fonctionne depuis toutes les plateformes et appareils, qu’il s’agisse d’un smartphone, d’une tablette ou d’un ordinateur.

Accessibilité

Les personnes en situation de handicap peuvent voter par voie électronique sans l’aide de tiers.

Indépendant du lieu et de l’heure

Les Suisses habitant sur le territoire ou à l’étranger peuvent participer aux élections et aux votations, quel que soit leur lieu de résidence (le canton détermine les groupes d’électeurs pouvant profiter du vote électronique).

Empêche les erreurs

Les utilisateurs sont bien guidés afin d’éviter toute erreur formelle comme des réponses illisibles, des signatures manquantes, des formulaires mal remplis ou des listes invalides dans le processus d’élection et de votation.

Vitesse et exactitude

Les bulletins peuvent être comptabilisés rapidement et avec précision.

Conseils

Vérification de l'empreinte numérique du certificat

Si vous souhaitez vérifier que vous vous trouvez sur le portail de vote électronique correct et officiel, vous pouvez vérifier l'empreinte numérique du certificat. De cette manière, vous pouvez exclure que vous vous trouvez sur un site manipulé ou falsifié. Les certificats sont utilisés afin de garantir l’authenticité du serveur web contacté et de crypter la liaison de communication avec le serveur web. Ils permettent ainsi de distinguer les sites véritables des sites falsifiés même s’ils se ressemblent ou sont identiques au premier abord.

Effacer l’historique de votre navigateur

Si vous souhaitez vous assurer qu’aucune reconstitution de votre bulletin de vote ne puisse être faite sur votre appareil (ordinateur, tablette, smartphone), nous vous recommandons de vider le cache du navigateur après chaque vote. Cliquez sur le logo du navigateur que vous utilisez afin d’accéder aux instructions relatives à la suppression des historiques de navigateur.

Sécurité

Différents mécanismes intégrés ainsi que des dispositifs cryptographiques et techniques spéciaux veillent à assurer la sécurité et la protection des données. Au dernier stade de développement du système, les suffrages exprimés seront vérifiables individuellement et universellement. Cela signifie que les électeurs tout comme les commissions électorales peuvent vérifier à tout moment que les suffrages exprimés ont bien été enregistrés sans manipulation. Vous trouvez ci-dessous une sélection de mécanismes de sécurité:


  • Chiffrement de bout en bout

    La liaison entre l’électeur et le portail de vote est cryptée sans interruption.

  • Chiffrement des données sur le serveur

    Les suffrages cryptés sont déposés sur les serveurs de la Poste certifiés ISO et TÜV. Le nom ou l’adresse de l’électeur ne se trouve à aucun moment sur les systèmes.

  • Le suffrage ne peut être attribué à l’électeur

    Un suffrage exprimé ne peut pas être attribué à un électeur particulier ni avant ni après le décompte des suffrages, étant donné que les registres électoraux du système de vote électronique sont déjà anonymisés dans la préparation et que les suffrages sont en outre séparés du numéro de registre après le vote.

  • Illustration de l’année de naissance

    Entrée de l’année de naissance

    Dans certains cantons, lors de la connexion, l’électeur est invité à indiquer son année de naissance en plus des codes de saisie. L’année de naissance n’est pas représentée sur la carte d’électeur et entraîne ainsi une sécurité supplémentaire.

Comment puis-je voter par voie électronique?


Vous recevrez les codes nécessaires pour le vote joints au matériel de vote. Vous y trouverez également l’URL du portail pour les élections et votations utilisé par votre canton.
Quatre codes différents définissent le processus: le code d’initialisation, les codes de vérification, le code de confirmation et le code de finalisation.


Triangle: correspond au code d’initialisation.

Code d’initialisation

Le code d’initialisation (signalé par un TRIANGLE) est une série de chiffres et de lettres inscrite sur votre carte d’électeur. Vous devrez saisir le code d’initialisation et votre année de naissance sur le premier écran du portail pour vous identifier et démarrer la procédure de vote.

Carré: correspond au code de contrôle.

Codes de vérification

Les codes de vérification sont signalés par un DIAMANT et sont destinés à la vérifiabilité individuelle.
Les codes de vérification se composent d’une série de chiffres qui sera affichée à l’écran à l’étape 3 «Vérifier et voter». Comparez les codes de vérification affichés sur l’écran avec ceux inscrits sur vos documents de vote et documents électoraux. Si les codes de vérification affichés correspondent à ceux figurant sur les documents, vous savez que votre choix a bien été scellé et transmis.

Pentagone: correspond au code de confirmation.

Code de confirmation

Le code de confirmation est signalé par un PENTAGONE. Si les codes affichés à l’étape 3 («Vérifier et voter») correspondent aux codes de vérification, vous devez saisir le code de confirmation pour voter. Si vous ne saisissez pas votre code de confirmation, votre vote ne sera pas pris en compte dans l’urne électronique. Vous pouvez cependant voter par correspondance ou à l’urne.

Etoile: correspond au code de finalisation.

Code de finalisation

Le code de finalisation est signalé par une ETOILE sur votre carte d’électeur. A l’étape 4 «Voté», le code de finalisation vous permet de vérifier que la procédure de vote a été terminée avec succès. Si le code de finalisation correspond au code affiché, le processus de vote a été clôturé avec succès.

Demo

Vous avez la possibilité ici de tester le système de vote électronique de la Poste dans le cadre d’un scrutin et d’une élection fictifs.
La carte d’électeur vous parviendra par e-mail avec des instructions complémentaires. Prière de remplir toutes les rubriques.

Transparence

La Poste est convaincue que seule une solution de vote électronique transparente et politiquement neutre peut réussir à long terme. C’est pourquoi elle publie un certain nombre de documents et de concepts.

Transparence et publications

Cantons partenaires

Les cantons suivants utilisent déjà notre solution:

Fribourg

Armoiries du canton de Fribourg

A Fribourg, les Suisses de l’étranger peuvent voter par voie électronique depuis la votation du 27 novembre 2016.

Neuchâtel

Armoiries du canton de Neuchâtel

Neuchâtel utilise le système de la Poste sur son portail cantonal «Guichet unique» depuis le scrutin du 12 février 2017.

Thurgovie

Armoiries du canton de Thurgovie

La Thurgovie a opté pour le système de la Poste et prévoit de l’introduire pour la votation de l’automne 2018.